Still Learning

some thoughts on things I know

Vote Yes to AV

leave a comment »

As most of you are well aware by now there is a referendum being held tomorrow. As most of you are also well aware I have been arguing for a yes vote to change our method of electing MPs from First Past the Post (FPTP) to the Alternative Vote (AV). I won't go into the details of AV here, though if anyone has any questions you are welcome to ask me. I will, instead, present a video which points out some of the problems with FPTP (fair warning, it's a bit cute). 

Now AV will only help with the "spoiler effect". To counter the other problems further reform is needed to our electoral system. However, some improvement is better than no improvement, and by removing the spoiler effect the path to further reform would be more open (again, ask if you'd like any further explanation). 

So I implore you, prove the polls wrong and help to improve the political landscape of this country. Vote Yes tomorrow.

Written by nickwatts

May 4, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Posted in Work

Leave a comment